2 Eucalypts in Laos
  • 1 Burning Cape York
  • 7 Spokes Lookout Regen
  • 6 Spokes Trail Wildfire
  • 2 Blackbutt Sawlogs Bellangry NSW
  • 3 Plot Measurment
  • 1 Young Worker
  • 5 Old Growth Tallowood
  • 2 Forico1114 946
  • 1 Forico

Forest certification

The IFA supports forest and forest product certification and supports action that increases the area of certified forest.

Independent certification of forest management and timber supply chains are valuable tools to demonstrate sustainability of forest management and forest products, to consumers and the community, and efforts should be enhanced to achieve their full adoption and promotion within the Australian forest industries.

Certification schemes can provide a powerful incentive for sustainable forest management and continuous improvement. Australia has two active certification schemes, Australian Forestry Standard (AFS) and Forest Stewardship Council (FSC). Both schemes are recognised internationally, FSC through the FSC brand and AFS through the Programme for Endorsement of Forest Certification Schemes (PEFC).

To date around 10.5 million hectares of forests in Australia have been certified under these two schemes, including plantations and native forests.

More information about certification can be found in IFA’s policy on certification and from the AFS and FSC websites using the links below.